My first shot at teaching

I have some good news. Today I received word from a local community college that they needed someone to teach two online courses for them in their humanities department, starting next week! I’ll be teaching Introduction to the Bible and Major World Religions. Actually, the correct word would be “facilitating.” As an online instructor, my primary responsibility will be to lead and direct “classroom” discussion. It should be interesting. Thankfully the courses have already been written up by someone who offered them last semester, so for now I can use what is there. But I’m looking forward to a great learning opportunity. Wish me luck!

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My first shot at teaching

  1. Rani says:

    Teaching or facilitating is joyful, I am sure you will enjoy yourself as will the students. I came across your blog while searching for other Lutheran bloggers and I remembered you from Concordia, Seward. It seems you are well and very busy. That is good news indeed. Thanks for writing.

  2. sam says:

    What textbooks are you going to use for these classes?

    Have fun!

  3. Pastor Beisel says:

    To Rani: Good to hear from you. Rani Reynolds, I presume? Thanks for the encouragement!

    To Sam: It should be fun. For the World Religions class the text assigned was “The World’s Religions: Worldviews and Contemporary Issues” by William Young. For the Intro to Bible class, the Bible of course, and a Holman QuickSource Bible Atlas. These are real basic courses. Nothing fancy.

  4. Rani says:

    oops sorry, I am sure you mixed me up with all the other rani’s you have met…it is always nice to catch up with people you knew at one time or another. Especially people who share my faith. I remember you and Ben from Old and New Testament with Meyer and Meehl,I think. It was my first experience with a religion class and I enjoyed delving into the Word, when I could understand the professor. Hope you will inspire some students to continue their study of theology in your new teaching position.

  5. Lawrence says:

    I took a similar class taught, by coincidence, by my then LCMS pastor.

    The class had a real problem with how he taught it because they all thought it was simply a cake class about comparing major world religions.

    This pastor took it one step farther. While addressing the various world religions, he also compared various Christian denominations.

    A number of students did not like seeing how many Christian denominations are, effectively, different religions. Especially when many variations of Protestantism reflected very secular and very non-Biblical doctrines.

    He also showed how the major world religions are often incompatible with each other (explaining much of the worlds political/cultural conficts). Then reflected upon how many Christian denominations are likewise incompatible, reflecting much of our own national political strife.

    I don’t believe the college asked him back the next year.

  6. RevFisk says:

    Rock on Paul. This is being Ablaze at its best. 😉

    Seriously, this is exactly the way mission should be done.

Leave a Reply

