"I have come"

I’m about half-way through Simon Gathercole’s book The Pre-existent Son and so far I am pleased with it. My only disappointment is that it has taken about six chapters for him to get to the meat of his argument. Several times he tells me what he is going to argue, but then spends several pages explaining why he is going to argue this. Other than that, it has been an insightful book so far. Gathercole studies the “I have come” sayings of Jesus against the backdrop of similar sayings by angels both in the Old Testament and in other Jewish literature. These sayings (“I have come” + purpose clause) Gathercole argues sum up the entire purpose of Jesus’ coming, not the purpose of his entire existence, but of his first coming. The “I have come” sayings of Jesus in the Synoptic Gospels imply pre-existence, because, like the angels who spoke in a similar way, they show that he is coming “from somewhere,” not locally but from heaven to earth. I’ll provide a little more detail in future posts. But I wanted to at least put something on here so that it wouldn’t be considered a completely “dead” blog. I plan to contribute more, but when duty calls as a pastor, everything else must be put on hold.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Gathercole. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

