A Most Helpful Resource

Of all the books and commentaries I have on my shelves, this one may very well become one of my most prized possessions, if it hasn’t already. The Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by Beale and Carson has got to be one of the most helpful resources available for those who are interested in how the New Testament writers employed Old Testament quotations, echoes, and allusions in their writings. More than just an academic resource, I have found this to be an extremely useful tool in sermon preparation as well. One of my favorite things about it is its commentary on how certain OT passages were used in other Jewish literature. It is really worth its weight in gold.

About Rev. Paul L. Beisel

Graduate of Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, IN in 2001 (M Div.) and 2004 (S.T.M.); LC-MS Pastor and Adjunct Instructor for John Wood Community College; Husband of Amy and father of Susan, Elizabeth, Martin, and Theodore.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Most Helpful Resource

  1. Dizziness says:

    Thanks for the tip. I would also like a volume on use of the Gospels within the Epistles. I have considered many Epistle lections that seem to be a direct commentary on a saying of Christ. Know of any?

  2. Rev. Paul Beisel says:

    I don’t know of any, but I have had similar ideas when reading certain Epistles. I asked Larry Hurtado once if he thought that the Epistles use the Gospels as a source, and he said that he doubts it, but that they may have drawn from the same sources. I have even wondered if Paul isn’t referring to one of the Gospels (like Matthew) when he says that Christ was raised from the dead “according to the Scriptures.” Certainly by that time the Gospel of Matthew was understood as being Scripture. I think Dr. Scaer disagrees though. Thanks for reading, by the way. I’m trying to get things going on here again.

Leave a Reply

